Padleducks logo Paddleducks name

Welcome to Paddleducks..... The home of paddle steamer modelling enthusiasts from around the world.

+-

Main Menu

Home
About Us
Forum
Photo Gallery
Links
Contact Us

UserBox

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Search

Advanced Search

Author Topic: Scale & RC Boat Magazine Premier Issue  (Read 4816 times)

SSMA Bruce

Scale & RC Boat Magazine Premier Issue
« on: January 26, 2006, 10:12:25 AM »

Its here and its everything I expected. There were no surprises in content, but its the content that makes this issue a hit. It is as its title suggests - 100 percent scale boats. No gas, no speed. The emerging RTR classes are represented also.

As a scale modeler, what are you most interested in? For me, its technique and design. I'm not sufficiently challenged with most kits - the boat's construction being handed to me with parts and plans. I'm a scratch builder. Tom Guglielmo showed me how to build a shaft strut without complicated and expensive machine tools.

Rick Eyrich tells us WHY we need to install capacitors on the electric motor and HOW to do it. Glynn Guest explores the WHY and WHEN questions concerning visible crew members for our ships and boats.

We're adults who play with toy boats - whats the point if we can't meet and show off? Regattas and shows are also included. While I don't doubt that he is having fun, Capn Ron needs to turn a buck as well. His sponsors all seem to be contributors to the hobby. I enjoyed the ads as well.

I doubt there is anyone out there who hasn't heard of Dave Merriman. Dave is innovator and without doubt, an expert on building and operating R/C submarines. Its the premier issue and the first example of 'Tubes Forward', Dave's column is on, I presume, building and operating RC subs. Dave may have been a REALLY bad mood when he wrote the opening column.