Padleducks logo Paddleducks name

Welcome to Paddleducks..... The home of paddle steamer modelling enthusiasts from around the world.

+-

Main Menu

Home
About Us
Forum
Photo Gallery
Links
Contact Us

UserBox

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Search

Advanced Search

Author Topic: Motor gearbox for USS Susquehanna  (Read 670 times)

Offline Mu17

Motor gearbox for USS Susquehanna
« on: June 06, 2020, 08:34:53 AM »
During the lockdown I have tidied my loft !  and dragged out the Imai USS Susquehanna.
This is a simple but vey nicely moulded kit even by todays standards.

I would like to sail it as an rc model but whilst I have plenty of experience with rc gliders but I am all at sea  :o when it comes to knowing what size motor and gearing is required for a paddler.  The model is about 500mm long with an 85mm beam.
Draught is pretty shallow at around 22mm.

As I am not much of an engineer, I wondered about using on of the Tamiya motor gearbox units.  These all seem to have the final drive via hexagonal 3mm shafts which ae too shot to each the paddles. I can't find any hexagonal steel of this size and wondered if brass would be adequate to un paddle to paddle. 

Steering is intended to be by rudder rather than differential paddles, due to the small displacement. I realise that a substantially enlarged rudder will be needed.

Any helpful comments gratefully received.
Paul

Offline derekwarner_decoy

• Paddleducks Supporter
  • Wollongong - Australia
Re: Motor gearbox for USS Susquehanna
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2020, 03:00:24 PM »
Welcome Paul

This vessel size sounds for the need of caution :nono

If the hull is complete, could I suggest you place the hull in the bath, then gently add weight/mass to bring the hull down to the intended waterline

A simple method could be say an empty 675 ml plastic drink bottle.......then add water to the bottle as the needed weight etc