Padleducks logo Paddleducks name

Welcome to Paddleducks..... The home of paddle steamer modelling enthusiasts from around the world.

+-

Main Menu

Home
About Us
Forum
Photo Gallery
Links
Contact Us

UserBox

Welcome, Guest.
Please login or register.

Forgot your password?

Search

Advanced Search

Author Topic: Finally decided on a first build  (Read 1316 times)

Offline Markds

• Mark.schmidt21@yahoo.com
Finally decided on a first build
« on: October 14, 2012, 05:28:23 PM »
Hello all! After looking at buildable models for a month of plan after plan, I have decided on one called COP-R-LOY Detrioter Tugboat. http://www.taubmansonline.com/ and the plans are $25.00 UDS I believe. Being a newbie I have a range of questions but I suppose the place to start is...., once you begin a first build, what mathematical formulas should I be paying attention to? And the reason I ask is because I am also building a Bogstandard steam engine that I plan to use in my first build. The original was diesel but I cant help but think there must be bouyancy tests to do, calculations for placement and amount of counterweights, etc..  And thank you in advance!  :)
« Last Edit: October 14, 2012, 05:34:10 PM by Markds »
Mark Schmidt :-)

Offline derekwarner_decoy

• Paddleducks Supporter
  • Wollongong - Australia
Re: Finally decided on a first build
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 08:40:45 PM »
Hi PD's...& Mark....I have responded to your PM of today re scale/displacement.....

I have not used taubmansonline.com/ plans   but would expect them to detail actual displacement & therefore you could calculate scale displacement etc

Could I suggest that before you cement your plans for the hull & engine you read a little more  :breakcomp

Every mathematical relationship between actual and scale is considered, however physic's & nature are not necessarily scaleable  :nono